Press enter to search
Grantee City

Many homes in low-income neighborhoods in the City of Tulsa fall short of the high standards of efficiency and fortification that would protect them from extreme weather events. Tulsa is one of 10 cities taking part in the Cities of Service Resilience AmeriCorps program. Through this program, the city is engaging with citizen volunteers to build and sustain resilience in low-income communities by implementing the Sustainable Home Makeover Blueprint. With this Blueprint, Tulsa is expanding the fortified home program and offering weatherization retrofits to low-income homeowners so that more homes can sustain extreme weather like tornadoes. The city is also reviving neighborhoods by mobilizing citizen volunteers to map and reduce blight throughout Tulsa with the Love Your Block Blueprint. With this Blueprint, Tulsa is helping neighborhoods organize to provide valuable information to the city and address local needs.

Tulsa has been a member of the Cities of Service coalition since 2015, when former Mayor Dewey F. Bartlett Jr. signed the Declaration of Service. Current Mayor G.T. Bynum reaffirmed the city’s commitment to service by signing the Declaration again in 2016.

Mayor G.T. Bynum

G.T. Bynum was sworn in as the 40th mayor of Tulsa on December 5, 2016. Prior to his election, Mayor Bynum served for eight years on the Tulsa City Council. During that time, he was elected as the youngest city council chairman in Tulsa history. Throughout his time in Tulsa city government, Mayor Bynum has focused on fiscal restraint, public safety, and infrastructure.

Chief of Staff Jack Blair​

Before joining the Bynum administration, Jack Blair served as the policy administrator for the Tulsa City Council. He previously worked as an assistant attorney general for the Muscogee Creek Nation.

Director of the Working in Neighborhoods Department Dwain Midget​

Dwain Midget has served in various roles for the City of Tulsa since 1984. He has been director of the Working in Neighborhoods Department since 2008.